Saturday, July 15, 2017

Sioux Falls, Minnehaha, Lincoln Basic Timeline

This is meant to be a very basic timeline, that will have some events that may have affected your ancestors lives. Part of Sioux Falls is in Minnehaha County, and part of it is in Lincln County.  Click here for the Counties of South Dakota.  Click here for a list of the States.

1856 Western Town Company develops the townsite
1857 Dakota Land Company develops townsite
1861 - 1865 Civil War
1868 Sioux Falls becomes the county seat of Minnehaha
1873 Sioux Falls Independent News Paper begins publication
1874 Bank for Savings opens
1877 Village incorporated
1878 Sioux Falls Times Begins publication
1880 Dakota Territorial School for the Deaf and Mute Established
1881 Penitentiary Established
1882 Telephone begins operating
1883 City Chartered
1887 Streetcars begin operating
1895 Courthouse Built
1903 Carnegie Free Public Library Opens
1908 South Dakota Central Railway built
1914 - 1918 WW1
1916 Eastside Fire Station Constructed
1937 City Hall built
1939 - 1945 WW2

No comments:

Post a Comment